Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Hen Do Cambridge

Follow me to read all the latest book reviews of 2016 from Cambridge hen parties. I will also rate local services and review them.

For a few gigahertz and More ... - Ophelia Bruneau

Summary : A ship near the graveyard of spaceships ...
Incomplete and motley crew ...
A unexplored system on the eve of an interplanetary war ...
Jean-Frédéric Serrano, commander of the Viking , the best solution would be to leave the area before the Disaster! Unless, of course, if Aboriginal involve force earthlings in their conflict.
Caught between two fires, deprived of the support of the mother planet, the soldiers of the Viking play Russian roulette ... their way!
In space, no one will hear you bluff.

Edition : Ad Astra

My Opinion : I decided to let me try this book by some the fault of LeIF (which happens frequently say to me) who had made ​​a critique of the most interesting on his blog. Add to this that I met the author in the last Futuriales and I left with my autographed edition of this book in my PAL. Then right-of Space Opera, which is more French, is scarce enough to at least be discovered. Note that this is the first novel Ophelia Bruneau, the author who writes only news before this book. By cons I found the cover, illustrated by Laurent Guillet certainly friendly, but far from exceptional.

The Viking spacecraft sent to explore a new solar system, but our hero will soon find themselves in the middle of a war, and will have, by the force of things, get involved, which is never good. The story set up by the author does not lack panache and you never really get bored from the first to the last page of this short-Space Opera (about 210 pages). Between diplomacy, treason or terrorism the author knows how to play with the reader linking the twists and turns of situations effectively. A book full of panache and surprises that eventually devours with a minimum of pleasure. Furthermore the author decides to manage intelligently conflict through diplomacy and not by arms, as is often the military, what changes.Sure enough a summary diplomacy at times, but I found it interesting.

Add to that a good dose of humor that the author effectively and mania in all its forms, is what really appeal to players looking to have a good time and see smile laugh. The universe created by the author is more than solid, with some really interesting technologies, futuristic yet remaining, somehow, quite close to our time so that you never really loses in this world. But I find it unfortunate that this story finally completely removed and funny universe itself is so classic and serious, as if the author had really afraid to let go for not scare the reader, which is a shame because it gave me the impression of creating a kind of shift. Too bad, because the Ruxis no lack of interest and the author really successful to make them interesting.

About the characters I have to say that they do not lack charisma and above all reveal more disparate between the harsh and severe Commander Serrano, intelligent and serious Lieutenant Artemisia or the playboy and his staff sure we do Tikosh get bored. Add to that the secondary characters flying high and a bit quirky and you get a really interesting crew. This team is completely reveals different and yet so complementary that one can only hang on to it, although I find that sometimes the author in a bit too much, especially for a crew that is considered a military crew, nothing really disturbing as the humorous dialogues and cynicism fuse and make us smile regularly.

And yet I must admit I was not completely convinced by this book. So beware, it is pleasant to read, reads well and fast, and provides an effective and pretty gripping story but some things have not completely hooked me. For example I struggled to hang on the result of the use of a video game to solve interplanetary conflict. The idea does not seem impossible to me, but not completely either, and even less so quickly, which really surprised me. Furthermore the Ruxis seem intelligent beings, yet sometimes we really feel they are being manipulated like children. As I said, the novel remains really nice despite a few small black spots and I do not regret reading.

The style of the author is revealed bright, efficient and exciting from the first pages. It makes us into a futuristic world of really effective and it's hard to let go of the book. A novel that made me spend a moment reading the friendliest and hope to see one day of adventures the crew of the Viking. A crew that does not lack charisma and biting.

In summary : I had fun playing with this book which offers a solid history of Space-Opera, you never get bored from beginning to end and humor, very present in this book reveals effective and quite often fly. The universe created proves interesting, the author offers no futuristic technologies we so far removed from what we know to not completely lose the reader and does not lack originality. Too bad its a bit too serious side is at odds with the very present humor. The characters do not lack charisma and proved endearing and the pen of the author proves lively and compelling. Too bad that some ideas were not completely packed me and that sometimes the author is going to leave a little ease in handling diplomatic Ruxis. Finally efficient Space-Opera and taking which has its strengths and weaknesses and that gave me a nice time reading and I hope to one day find the characters of the Viking.

My rating : 7/10

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post